Pavle Perencevic  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 12:11
Member (2002)
Serbian to English
+ ...
Aug 9, 2008

The following email has just arrived in my Inbox:

"I am contacting your company because I have been working as a freelance translator for nearly five years and would like to offer my services to additional translation agencies.

I translate from French into English and also provide proofreading and editing services.

Do you require translators to complete an application form? Do you require tests or samples? What range of rates do you typically pay?
... See more
The following email has just arrived in my Inbox:

"I am contacting your company because I have been working as a freelance translator for nearly five years and would like to offer my services to additional translation agencies.

I translate from French into English and also provide proofreading and editing services.

Do you require translators to complete an application form? Do you require tests or samples? What range of rates do you typically pay?

Colleagues of mine may also want to offer their services to your agency. What other languages do you require.

Please let me know if you would like to me send my curriculum vitae.

Thank you for your interest.

Best regards,

XXXXXX YYYYYYY
French - English Freelance Translator
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
E-mail [email protected]"

I've checked the email address on several email checking sites. It is not a valid deliverable address. At the time I got this email, there was only one Google hit for this name - and it also seemed to be related to some sort of scam. It goes without saying that this "curriculum vitae" is not one you would want to have on your hard disk.

[Edited at 2008-08-09 19:04]

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2008-08-10 13:08]
Collapse

Giuseppina Gatta, MA (Hons)
Giuseppina Gatta, MA (Hons)
English to Italian
+ ...
With Google... Aug 9, 2008

...I found 2 hits with "Adriana Lesova", looks like a virus.