Should you accept to conduct a translation test or no ?
Thread poster: Altin Guberi
Altin Guberi
Altin Guberi
Albania
Local time: 10:55
English to Albanian
+ ...
Aug 2, 2021

I am just wondering whether it's normal to conduct a translation test from a new company whom seem potentially interested in you.

[Edited at 2021-08-02 08:16 GMT]

Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 10:55
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Maybe, if you're just starting out. Aug 2, 2021

I personally refuse to do them, unless they are paid. I have over 25 years of experience in translation and a wealth of customer testimonials to prove my competence.
I believe there is something unhealthy in an agency that asks for translation tests — wit the possible exception of those where it is a requirement coming from their end client. Generally, it reflects an attitidue of "wanting to be in control" in a situation where it is almost impossible to be!
In all my years as a tra
... See more
I personally refuse to do them, unless they are paid. I have over 25 years of experience in translation and a wealth of customer testimonials to prove my competence.
I believe there is something unhealthy in an agency that asks for translation tests — wit the possible exception of those where it is a requirement coming from their end client. Generally, it reflects an attitidue of "wanting to be in control" in a situation where it is almost impossible to be!
In all my years as a translator, I have done tests in the past, and have almost never actually got a job through them! Now I don't think this means I'm a poor translator! Plenty of ther people give me work, and become repeat customers.
I think the whole premise of test translations is flawed: