arabic speech for introductory class.
Thread poster: greaterthanme
Apr 28, 2010

Hello or Marhaba

I am a student in a introductory 'conversational' Arabic class, we do not learn the written Arabic language, instead we are learning the very basics of how to communicate in spoken Arabic. As a final project I must give a short speech about myself.

I often have a hard time translating (on the internet) words from my teachers lessons. I suspect the root of the problem is that so many dialects of Arabic are spoken around the world, so I think it woul
... See more
Hello or Marhaba

I am a student in a introductory 'conversational' Arabic class, we do not learn the written Arabic language, instead we are learning the very basics of how to communicate in spoken Arabic. As a final project I must give a short speech about myself.

I often have a hard time translating (on the internet) words from my teachers lessons. I suspect the root of the problem is that so many dialects of Arabic are spoken around the world, so I think it would helpful to note that my teacher is a Christian Arab from Israel. She speaks Arabic, Hebrew, and English, but often argues with the Saudi student in my class over which term is most accurate or most frequently used.

Anyway I am looking for help translating the speech I would like to give, let me first type it out in English, then what I have in Arabic-English transliteration (that my teacher uses) with the words I'm missing in (). Please forgive my poor grammar in both languages. By the way, it is intended to be a bit humorous (I am not trying to offend anyone), my teacher likes to joke since we have a small class.