Laura Barbieri
Laura Barbieri  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:37
English to Italian
+ ...
Apr 27, 2006

Hello all,

I'm a newbie in translating subtitles, I am collaborating with a couple of agencies so far, and I recently got a mail sent to me via Proz by a well-known company, which asked me if I was interested in taking a test for them. I did: the test included 10 mins. of a movie, 10 idiomatic expressions to explain and to give examples of and two passages from a technical text and from a book.
Yesterday, I received the agency's feedback, telling me the test was positive but b
... See more
Hello all,

I'm a newbie in translating subtitles, I am collaborating with a couple of agencies so far, and I recently got a mail sent to me via Proz by a well-known company, which asked me if I was interested in taking a test for them. I did: the test included 10 mins. of a movie, 10 idiomatic expressions to explain and to give examples of and two passages from a technical text and from a book.
Yesterday, I received the agency's feedback, telling me the test was positive but below their standards according to the assessor's remarks, which I was provided with. The remarks were as follows: a capitalized word which shouldn't have been capitalized and two idiomatic expressions not understood (nothing about the translation of the 10 mins. nor of the passages). Actually, I had explained and given examples for both expressions, so that I replied accordingly and copied the phrases. The contact person confirmed that the assessor might have been "overvigilant" about them, and that's it. Now, what I'm asking is: is one capitalization too many enough to disqualify you as a translator for subtitling? Hope you'll cheer me up! Thanks!!
Collapse

Dyran Altenburg (X)
Dyran Altenburg (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:37
English to Spanish
+ ...
It's up to the client Apr 27, 2006

A capitalization probably wouldn't, but misunderstood meanings certainly would.