Managing translation projects in a law firm
Thread poster: janvalenta
janvalenta
janvalenta
Local time: 07:57
Czech to English
+ ...
Jun 19, 2003

I've been translating in large Prague law firms for several years now, and I have always had more or less the same experience, which can be briefly summarised as follows:
1) Work comes in "waves". One week you have nothing to do, the second week you can bring your sleeping bag to the office. As the number of clients rises, the "nothing-to-do" waves seem to dissapear.
2) The vast majority of translations is urgent.
3) In the middle of one translation, you often have to stop and
... See more
I've been translating in large Prague law firms for several years now, and I have always had more or less the same experience, which can be briefly summarised as follows:
1) Work comes in "waves". One week you have nothing to do, the second week you can bring your sleeping bag to the office. As the number of clients rises, the "nothing-to-do" waves seem to dissapear.
2) The vast majority of translations is urgent.
3) In the middle of one translation, you often have to stop and start translating another document, which is more urgent than the one you were translating before.
4) If the laweyers have scheduled a meeting that requires interpreting, the interpreter is the last to know.
5) Etc. etc.