Jorge Mosquera
Jorge Mosquera  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 22, 2012

Hi everyone,

I am new to the field of voice over and had some questions. I am going to work on a 11 minute instructional video on how to operate a machine (polisher). It is semi-technical in nature. The video walks the user through the process of unpacking, operating and maintaining the equipment. I would need to translate the script and then go to the client's studio and record my translation there. No cuing/editing would be needed on my part.

This is what the client o
... See more
Hi everyone,

I am new to the field of voice over and had some questions. I am going to work on a 11 minute instructional video on how to operate a machine (polisher). It is semi-technical in nature. The video walks the user through the process of unpacking, operating and maintaining the equipment. I would need to translate the script and then go to the client's studio and record my translation there. No cuing/editing would be needed on my part.

This is what the client offers:

"Our rates for vo’s over :60 seconds is our normal hourly rate of $140.
Under :60 is $35"

So:

1) What does that mean? I don't understand what the client is proposing or how much I would get paid.

2) How do you usually charge for your work? i.e. do you charge for the full length of the video or for the time you spent recording?

3) I'm assuming I should charge translation of script and recording in studio separately, right? Or would that be included in the rate the client is proposing?

Those are my main concerns for now. I realize there are other posts regarding voice over jobs, but I could not find my answer in any of them. I just need an explanation of what the client is saying I guess.

Thanks in advanced!

Jorge
Collapse

Sylvano
Sylvano
Local time: 16:20
English to French
Some answers Sep 24, 2012