Thread poster: Aija Balcere
Aija Balcere
Aija Balcere  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:46
French to Latvian
+ ...
Mar 23, 2013

Hello,

I'm an English-Latvian translator. I purchased the membership at the end of November 2012, though now I see that I didn't have the results I expected. I was contacted directly to my profile maybe once a month and after sending my CV and rates, I never received a response. I think that the reason for this could be my rates which are normal for France, my country of residence, but could be too high for Latvia, my country of origin, because there the translators accept jobs for
... See more
Hello,

I'm an English-Latvian translator. I purchased the membership at the end of November 2012, though now I see that I didn't have the results I expected. I was contacted directly to my profile maybe once a month and after sending my CV and rates, I never received a response. I think that the reason for this could be my rates which are normal for France, my country of residence, but could be too high for Latvia, my country of origin, because there the translators accept jobs for lower rates.

Nevetheless, I had more luck with jobs posted on Proz.com. Therefore I'm thinking to get a refund, though now Proz.com offers me to become a Certified PRO network member.

I would like to know what is your experience in this matter, does becoming a Certified PRO network member helps considerably to increase the chances to be visible in the translator's list? I'm thinking that anyway all that matters for an employer are the lowest rates possible.

Thank you in advance,

Aija
Collapse

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
English to French
What did you expect? Mar 23, 2013

Aija Balcere wrote:
... now I see that I didn't have the results I expected.